Historic Vote Sees House Speaker Kevin McCarthy Ousted from Position

In an unprecedented move, House Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) was removed from his position on Tuesday. This came after Democrats, along with a handful of Republicans, supported a motion by Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) to vacate the speakership. The vote, which concluded at 216-210, marked the first instance in U.S. history where a speaker has been ousted. The last challenge to a speakership dates back over a century.

The Republicans who joined the Democrats in this vote were Reps. Andy Biggs (AZ), Ken Buck (CO), Eli Crane (AZ), Bob Good (VA), Matt Rosendale (MT), Tim Burchett (TN), and Nancy Mace (SC).

In the interim, Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC) has been appointed as the Speaker Pro Tempore, overseeing House proceedings until a new speaker is selected. McHenry’s evident frustration with the unfolding events was palpable as he forcefully recessed the House for conference meetings.

The decision to remove McCarthy has sparked widespread reactions within the Republican ranks. Former President Donald Trump criticized the faction of Republicans responsible for the move, emphasizing unity within the party. Meanwhile, more centrist Republicans expressed their concerns over the internal party rift. Main Street Caucus Vice Chair Stephanie Bice (R-OK) commented on the situation, stating, “This is a distraction from what we should be focusing on, which is the appropriations process. This is all about Matt Gaetz. It’s not about Kevin McCarthy. Matt Gaetz is using the American people as pawns in his narcissistic game of charades.”