The Largest Gun Control Legislation In Decades Has Just Been Signed Into Law

Gage Skidmore

On Saturday, Obama’s former Vice President signed one of the most significant gun control bills in decades into law.

In the so-called “Bipartisan Safer Communities Act,” the bill passed with 15 Republican senators backing new legislation, which gives states financial incentives to enact controversial “red flag” laws.

Earlier this week, the bill was advanced through the Senate, with the support of 14 Republican senators. In total, the 80-page bill was reviewed for two hours, before a procedural vote was taken.

In a statement, the White House said the new law, “enhances certain restrictions and penalties on firearms purchases; promotes evidence-based best practices for school safety; authorizes grants to expand access to mental health services; and appropriates emergency funding for mental health resources and school safety measures.”

In response to the signing of the bill, the National Rifle Association (NRA) said, “Make no mistake, behind the facade and contrived talking points of safety, school security, and mental health, THIS IS A GUN CONTROL BILL.”

Opposing the new bill is the Gun Owners of America (GOA). They said in a statement that the bill, “would encourage Backdoor Universal Background Checks by redefining many private sellers as gun dealers, financially incentivize states to enact unconstitutional ‘red-flag’ laws, and would allow for so-called ‘enhanced background checks,’ which are arbitrary delays in transferring firearms to adults not yet 21 years-old.”

Republican lawmakers voting for this legislation include:


  • Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Mitt Romney (R-UT)
  • Rob Portman (R-OH)
  • Todd Young (R-IN)
  • Thom Tillis (R-NC)
  • Roy Blunt (R-MO)
  • Richard Burr (R-NC)
  • Susan Collins (R-ME)
  • Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  • Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  • Pat Toomey (R-PA)
  • Joni Ernst (R-IA)
  • Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)



  • Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
  • María Elvira Salazar (R-FL)
  • Reps. Liz Cheney (R-WY)
  • Tom Rice (R-SC)
  • Peter Meijer (R-MI)
  • Mike Turner (R-OH)
  • John Katko (R-NY)
  • Steve Chabot (R-OH)
  • David Joyce (R-OH)
  • Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH)
  • Chris Jacobs (R-NY)
  • Tony Gonzales (R-TX)
  • Fred Upton (R-MI)
  • Adam Kinzinger (R-IL.)